Balance Your Chakras with these Essential Oils

September 23, 2016

Balance Your Chakras with these Essential Oils

What are chakras? Many of us have maybe only heard the word once and are not familiar with its meaning.   

Chakras are referred to as far back as approximately 1000 B.C.

The word chakra means “wheel” in the sacred language of Hinduism and Buddhism. Eastern religions believe that we have seven energy centres called chakras.  

Each chakra resembles a colored wheel. These wheels spin in a clockwise direction at different speeds, and are located at different locations of our body.

Essential oils help restore the balance of each chakra.  

First Chakra (Muladhara)

This is the root chakra and is situated at the base of the spine.  

It represents Tribal power. During the process of spiritual development we are challenged to retain those influences that form our roots or childhood that are positive and to get rid of the negative influences.  

Patchouli essential oil is stabilizing and will help ground you.  

Second Chakra (Svadisthana)

The sacral chakra is situated in the lower abdomen and represents relationships and sexuality as well as creativity.  

Sandalwood and rose oils will help balance this chakra.   

Third Chakra (Manipura)

The navel or solar plexus chakra is situated in the upper abdomen and represents personal power and self esteem.  

Cinnamon oil is warming and peppermint oil has a cooling effect while chamomile oil has a calming effect.  

Fourth Chakra (Anahata)

The heart chakra is situated above the heart in the centre of the chest and represents emotional power.  

This chakra mediates between the body and the spirit and determines their health and strength.  

The most powerful energy is love.  

Rose oils bring romantic feelings of happiness, joy and love and eucalyptus oil soothes.

Fifth Chakra (Vishuddha)

The throat chakra is centred at the centre of the throat and represents power of will and self expression.

Chamomile oil is calming and eucalyptus oil helps relieve sore throats and blocked sinuses.  

Sixth Chakra (Ajna)

The brow chakra (third eye) is situated at the forehead between the eyes and represents the power of the mind.  

Lavender oil is calming and peppermint oil is cooling.  

Seventh Chakra (Sahasrara)  

The crown chakra is situated at the top of the head and is our spiritual connector to our spirituality.

 Frankincense oil is spiritually charged and lavender and sandalwood oils are great to help balance this chakra.  

Yoga also helps balance the seven energy centres or chakras of the body.  

It is important to balance our physical, mental and emotional centres to lead a beautiful, happy and fulfilled life!

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.