Nutrition for the Chakras: Which Foods Should You Be Eating For Healing?

March 16, 2018

Nutrition for the Chakras: Which Foods Should You Be Eating For Healing?

Your chakras are energy centers in your body that start at the at the base of the spine (root chakra), and travel up to the crown chakra at the top of your head, stopping at five other points along the way.

When your chakras are perfectly aligned and open, they are able to receive fresh, new energy that will positively impact every part of your life, but unfortunately many people don’t even realize that certain problems in their life can be traced back to a block in one of these energy centers.

There are many different ways to open the chakras from journaling to a daily meditation practice, but one of the best things you can do to keep your chakras open and bright is to ensure you are eating the right foods everyday and staying far away from processed, fast foods.

Here are some of the best all natural foods for each chakra.

Root chakra

Located at the base of the spine, this chakra is all about our connection to the earth and when this chakra is out of imbalance you may feel anxious or stressed.

Foods that benefit this chakra include root vegetables such as beets, garlic, ginger, turnips, parsnips and potatoes. The colour of this chakra is red so red foods such as apple or pomegranate can help to recharge your roots.

Sacral chakra

The colour of this chakra is orange and is located just below your navel. This chakra governs your emotions and sexuality and when there is an imbalance you may have trouble expressing your emotions or taking risks.

The element of this chakra is pure water so staying hydrated is key to keeping your sacral chakra balanced. Try spring water, herbal teas and nutrient rich broths to fill your body with nutrients and to really give this chakra a boost.

Orange foods will also benefit this chakra so enjoy vibrant orange foods like oranges, mangos and papayas!

Solar plexus chakra

Located exactly 3 inches above your navel, the solar plexus chakra governs your sense of self-esteem and an imbalance will result in poor confidence, fatigue and fears of rejection or criticism.

The colour of this chakra is yellow so be sure to indulge in sunny foods like banana, yellow lentils, corn and yellow peppers. This chakra converts energy so avoid foods that are absorbed too quickly like sugar and simple carbohydrates.

Heart chakra

This chakra is located at your heart center and governs emotions related to the heart. When an imbalance in the heart chakra occurs you may suffer from relationship troubles, anger, jealousy or loneliness.

Emerald green is the colour of the heart chakra so fill your body with dark, leafy greens like spinach, collards, kale and swiss chard. Add some to a smoothie and watch your smoothie transform into a beautiful vibrant green that is going to feed your heart chakra and help to balance your emotions.

Throat chakra

Located at your throat, the throat chakra is the center of your communication. An imbalance may result in an inability to express yourself, both verbally and through writing and you may have a feeling of having no choice or being out of control.

The colour of this chakra is a vibrant blue so blue-pigmented foods such as blueberries can help to encourage free expression, as well as fruits that grow on trees such as apples, plums, peaches, apricots and pears.

Third eye chakra and crown chakra


These chakras are more spiritual than earthy and can benefit from love and living mindfully rather than just relying on foods. Eating light meals and practicing a daily meditation can really help to open the third eye and crown chakras.

After reading this you may realize that more than one chakra is imbalanced and that is because they are all connected and if one is affected then it may indirectly affect another one. Try and incorporate a combination of the above mentioned foods into your diet, focus on yourself more and allow yourself time off every now and again to recharge your batteries nd open up all your chakras.

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.